I’m Procrastinating


Yes, I said it.  I admit it.  I’m Procrastinating.  A lot.

On the bright side though, my office is uber-organized now…  and it’s clean…  My bulletin board is hung with storyline index cards all over it.  The word processor is open.  My mind is spinning out thoughts and ideas… However, I haven’t typed in one single new word on any of the stories.  Oh joy!  It’s not writer’s block.. because like I said, the ideas are there.  Dreams, thoughts, ideas come all the time.  So what to do… what to do?

Maybe it is because I have noticed, through tweets, that people actually take time to write their blog posts.  They formulate, they think and they write brilliant posts!  I tend to  come here and just type and type and then publish.  Should I spend more time?  Come up with good anecdotes?  Write the post like you would write a paper…  have a beginning with points given on what is to come, then a body dissecting through those points and finally a nice summary with great philosophical meaning??

I’ll have to think on that one…  But if I think to hard, I would probably not write anything in a blog.  Believe it or not, I am a very private person and writing down thoughts and personal adventures for everyone to read completely takes me outside my normal comfort zone!  But I do it… and I’m glad that I do.  These posts are cathartic and fun at times!  I think what I need to do more often though is pose questions… ask for topics…

So does anyone have a topic they would like me to blog about?  Anything question anyone wants me to answer.  I’ve noticed some people have been doing the ‘ask me anything’ site – very interesting questions and answers I have seen! 🙂

Anyway – that is all for tonight.  Off to bed to dream about finishing my book and writing that next word in one of the stories!  Hopefully, I will stop procrastinating and connect my mind to my hands and get all of these thoughts written down!

4 Responses to “I’m Procrastinating”

  1. Mark Sherrick Says:

    I always wonder how much time people put into blog posts. I’m the same way as you, I get an idea, write it up, make sure the grammar makes sense, and publish it. There have been a few posts that I took time with because I had to make sure the links were correct and things like that, but for the most part, I don’t plan how posts will turn out, I just kinda go with it.

    Awesome that you’ve got everything set up around yourself – I don’t have a traditional workspace, and I do a lot of my blogging on my phone, so sometimes things get a bit scattered which can be a pain.

    • randomshelly Says:

      I’m glad to know that I am not the only one! Then maybe I will quit thinking about it so hard! I was starting to wonder, to get people to read and actually subscribe to your blog – meaning that they want to read what you have to say… maybe I should quit being so personal and quick with my posts – but then again, I’m not doing this for money… so I guess it doesn’t matter if I have a lot of people reading it right?? I think somewhere in that rambling was a little bit of needing self-validation! LOL

      I have NO problem with organization… my closet, pantries, pretty much everything is setup… 🙂 And I CANNOT imagine doing most of my typing from the phone… even though I am versed in the iPhone and Blackberry – the iPhone corrections can at times get you in trouble! HA

      • Mark Sherrick Says:

        You and I are far from the only ones…there’s millions of us, I guarantee.

        I have trouble getting consistent readership and subscriptions myself, I’m always trying to understand why, and I think its one of those things that rights itself over time as you get more exposure and provide more quality content…but that validation of a comment or subscription is always a nice feeling.

        I am organized WITHIN disorganization. When things are put away, I can’t find them. When they’re spread around, I know exactly where they are and can find them in a snap. I keep my office in a state of organized chaos, which irritates my wife because its always a mess, and it’s our spare downstairs room, so its always in use.

        • randomshelly Says:

          I know a LOT of people who have organized chaos and thrive with that! You’re obviously one of them! 🙂


Leave a Reply

