Worthiness


Wow.  I am so excited to be writing a blog post about a specific topic!  Usually I just write about whatever happens to be in my head at the moment when I have time to write!  Today’s topic will be worthiness!  It is in response to a post on Brene Brown’s website here

I know most people don’t actively walk around asking, “Am I worthy?” – Not specifically, but trust me, almost everyone, every day is asking it silently!  You know what I mean…  When someone mentions they just bought the shirt they are wearing, they want to know you approve.  When someone cooks for you, they always love to hear that it is great.  There is nothing wrong with that.  Validation is a very powerful thing… whether you are giving or getting it!

I believe that a person’s feeling of worthiness begins with them.  If you don’t think you are worthy, why would anyone else?   A lot of people out there can put on a ‘public persona’ and fool most of the people around them, but only briefly.  If you don’t believe in yourself, it will, at some point, eventually show!

So now I ask…  Why wouldn’t you believe in yourself?  There is NO reason not to! NONE.  PERIOD.  Let me repeat that…  There is no reason whatsoever for anyone to ever feel they aren’t worthy.

I know that there are people out there who have been told by people in their lives that they aren’t worthy, are useless, or whatever idiotic phrasing they use…  and I’m not a psychologist, but I would venture to guess that whoever has said that to someone else, does so because they don’t believe in themselves.  Think about that.  Why would someone actually take the time to make someone else feel insignificant or bad?  I actually can’t comprehend it because I don’t have that in my life.  Besides the fact that I have a WONDERFUL family and friend support system, I don’t allow people into my life that bring in negativity!

My mother raised me saying a phrase that I love.  Every time I would get into trouble or do something stupid (we don’t need to go into numbers here…) – She would listen to me and then she would say, “You made your bed…  You can change the sheets.”  Now, think about THAT!

No matter what it is that you want to do… TRY to do it! You may fail… EVERYONE does at some point… everyone!   You will never accomplish it if you don’t try!  I have a high regard for believing that anyone can accomplish anything…  OK… I will admit, that now, at my age (again let’s fore-go the numbers) I won’t be winning the American Idol competition!  Even if I could sing, I’m too old!   But other than things like that…  I believe that I could do whatever I set my mind to.

I think the key to feeling worthy is to first respect yourself, then realize that you have value and be proud of yourself.  You are the only you there is.  You are unique.  You are special.  You are Worthy. Believe that.  Live that.  Share that.

Also here is post I wrote on another blog if you are interested – I think it goes well with this topic!  “BeYourself”

4 Responses to “Worthiness”

  1. Sally G. Says:

    So true Shelly. I actually quoted you on my Caring Creates page ~ love how you ended this post. Well done!!

    • randomshelly Says:

      Thanks! It really pumps me up talking about stuff like this! I really have a hard time understanding sometimes why people don’t feel worthy – I understand it intelligently, but on the emotional level? I just want to shake them and ask WTF!! I’m not saying I am confident in everything I do! Every time I have to do something I’ve never done before, I procrastinate, I get anxiety, and when I know my time is just about up, I jump in and get it done! Do I do that because I know that I will always get it done when I have to? I don’t know! But I do know that whatever I do, I will be supported and I love sharing that feeling with others! 🙂

  2. Staci (foogirl) Says:

    🙂

    thank you, darling.
    I needed this.

    • randomshelly Says:

      Any time! 🙂


Leave a Reply

